BRAIN TUMOUR ALL PARTY PARLIAMENTARY GROUP... MPs helping us to improve outcomes for brain tumour patients and their families

Prior to a General Election, All Party Groups are disbanded and need to be re-established for the new Parliament.

There are certain rules about the make-up of an All Party Group:

  • There needs to be 20 qualifying MPs
  • They need to be Cross Party with 10 from the governing party, 6 from the opposition and 4 from other parties
  • The Group can include Members of the House of Lords

With the dawning of a coalition this means that the 10 MPs from the governing party have to be a mixture of
Conservative and Liberal Democrat MPs.

Ministers and MPs with particular roles such as Whips cannot be qualifying members although they can add
their support.

Enlisting backbench Liberal Democrat MPs for this group proved difficult as many of our previous Liberal
Democrat supporters have now been given ministerial positions.

With a nationwide coverage Brain Tumour Research member charities were able to galvanise the support of their
local MPs and by the deadline of July 2010 a new brain tumour All Party Parliamentary Group was able to be formed,
with Brain Tumour Research providing the secretariat.

We are delighted that the following pledged their support to be the qualifying members:

James Arbuthnot, MP for North East Hampshire
Kevin Brennan, MP for Cardiff West
Lord Carlile of Berriew
Tony Baldry, MP for Banbury
Richard Harrington, MP for Watford
Andrew Selous, MP for South West Bedfordshire
Ian Liddell Grainger, MP for Bridgewater and West Somerset
Oliver Heald, MP for North East Hertfordshire
Lord Colwyn
Annette Brook, MP for Mid Dorset and North Poole
Baroness Tonge
Stephen Twigg, MP for Liverpool, West Derby
Fabian Hamilton, MP for Leeds North East
John Robertson, MP for Glasgow North West
Kelvin Hopkins, MP for Luton North
Stephen Pound, MP for Ealing North
Sharon Hodgson, MP for Washington and Sunderland West
Jon Trickett, MP for Hemsworth
Baroness Wilkins
Lord Harris of Haringey

We are also delighted to have the support of other MPs who champion our cause in Parliament.

If your MP isn't listed and you would like them to be involved please see How You Can Help.


James Arbuthnot
Chair of the brain tumour All Party Parliamentary Group
James Arbuthnot has been an MP for over 20 years, representing North East
Hampshire since 1997.  He had had a distinguished Parliamentary career,
serving as Minister for Defence Procurement during John Major's government,
Opposition Chief Whip (1997-2001), and Shadow Secretary of State for Trade
(2003-2005).  He has been a Member of the Commons Intelligence and
Security Committee and is currently Chairman of the House of Commons
Defence Committee.
Chairman of the All Party Group on Brain Tumours, James brings his deep
experience of working in Parliament to bear on the workings of the Group. 
He was moved to become a member of the Group after the sad loss of
Samantha Dickson whose parents, Neil and Angela, live in his constituency
and brought the issue to his sad attention.                            
Kevin Brennan
Vice Chair and Secretary of the brain tumour All Party Parliamentary Group
Kevin Brennan was elected to Parliament in June 2001, succeeding the Rt Hon Rhodri Morgan who had represented Cardiff West since June 1987.
Kevin worked as Mr Morgan's constituency based researcher from 1995, acting as his Agent and Campaign Manager in the 1999 and 2000 Welsh Labour leadership contests.  From March 2000 until May 2001, Kevin acted as Rhodri Morgan's Special Advisor at the Welsh Assembly.  After his election to Parliament, Kevin became a member of the Public Administration Committee.  Kevin has also been a member of the Special Standing Committees on the  Adoption and Children's Bill (2001-2); The State Pensions Credit Bill (2002) and the Finance Bill (2002).  At the end of 2002, Kevin was also appointed to the Northern Ireland Grand Committee.
In 2004 Kevin was appointed as Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Alan Milburn.  After the 2005 General Election he was appointed a Junior Whip in the Government Whips Office.  In 2006 he was appointed Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Dept. of Children, Schools and Families before being appointed to the Cabinet Office as Minister for the Third Sector in 2008.
In 2009 Mr Brennan was appointed as the Minister of State for Further Education, Skills, Apprenticeships and Consumer Affairs.  Following the 2010 General Election Kevin continued this role in a Shadow capacity before becoming Shadow Minisiter for Schools under Ed Milliband.
He is an active member of the brain tumour All Party Parliamentary Group and became engaged with the group having heard the story of one of his constituents - Holly Timbrell, a teenager, who was diagnosed in 2009 and has undergone several operations and now lives between three monthly scans.  She and her mother Karen are active fundraisers for Brain Tumour Research and promote awareness through their local media.



Let's Connect
Register now for Wear A Hat Day
Make a donation here
We aim to fund brain tumour research in the same way as leukaemia, breast and other cancers - will you help us?